Regional Committee Information

  • The Northborough-Southborough Regional School Committee is composed of five Northborough members and five Southborough members elected by the Towns of Northborough and Southborough. These member positions include one chair, one vice-chair, one secretary, and seven members.

    As outlined in the district strategic plan “Vision 2020: Strategically Planning For The Future”, The Vision of the Public Schools of Northborough and Southborough promotes high expectations and excellence for all in a dynamic learning environment that inspires opportunities for thinking critically, solving problems, and engaging intellectual curiosity. We integrate relevant

    technology and foster innovation to set the stage for success in a global society. Our culture supports diversity, inclusion, discovery, resiliency, and effective communication in a safe environment. While the Mission of the Public Schools of Northborough and Southborough is to provide an exceptional educational experience for every student in a safe environment.

    The School Committee provides a critical role in assimilating the mission and vision statements to guide decision making to support the District's Goals, while the Superintendent is responsible for the administrative operation of the Districts.

    The responsibilities of the School Committee includes:

    • To appoint and evaluate the Superintendent
    • To review and approve budgets for public education
    • To establish educational goals and policies consistent with the requirements of Massachusetts General Law and statewide standards established by the Massachusetts Board of Education

Committee Members


    CHAIR:  Paul H. Desmond

    VICE CHAIR: Daniel L. Kolenda

    SEC:  Kathleen A. Harragan Polutchko

    Karen Ares 

    Paul C. Butka

    Christopher D. Covino

    Joan G. Frank 

    Kathleen M. Howland

    Cathy A. Kea

    Sean O'Shea 




Meeting Schedule

  • 2021-2022 Meeting Dates

    The Regional School Committee meets on the third Wednesday of the month unless otherwise noted at 6:30 P.M. in the Algonquin Regional High School Library.

Contact Us